Letters to My Offspring #18

Posted: May 24, 2012 in Letters to My Offspring

Happy birthday, little Raptor.

Today was a busy day, and a lot has happened over the past few weeks. We threw a big party for you tonight, and I can’t wait to tell you about it. Right now, though, one occasion eclipses all others. As your party came to a close, I took you up to bed. You did not relent easily, and I spent a long while holding and rocking you before you finally relaxed and drifted to sleep. It was a calm moment in the middle of a whirlwind of activity, and although we have experienced numerous similar moments, it occurred to me that exactly one year ago, at that same time of night, I was holding and rocking you to sleep for the very first time. That night I was stunned by your very existence. Tonight I am stunned by how vital your existence is in my life.

Someday you and I will be at odds, and you will think I am many horrible things. Maybe you’ll dislike or hate me, maybe I will disgust or embarrass you. I know and accept that our relationship will have its bad moments. That said, I also know that there will never be a moment when my heart doesn’t swell at the thought of you, that my happiness will be unaffected by your happiness.

With all that I am, I love you.

Mum

Comments
  1. Millie Johnson says:

    Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

