Matching aprons

Posted: July 13, 2012 in Projects

I have a dear friend with two young children, a two year-old and a one year-old. Since she does a lot of cooking and baking, and her oldest child, Mr. Vincent, loves imitating her with his toy kitchen set, I thought it would be fun to make them matching aprons. Without explaining what I was doing, I had my friend pick out the fabric for her own apron, then selected two sturdy complementary fabrics for her children. I used Simplicity 2555, but decided against using ribbon. Instead, I mixed up the fabrics somewhat. So for the mother’s apron I used her son’s fabric for the straps and her daughter’s fabric for the pockets. For the children’s aprons I used the mother’s fabric for the pockets and neck strap, and I also switched some of the thread colors–the stitching on part of the red apron is green, and vise versa. I thought this was a nice way to integrate everyone’s colors and fabrics into the aprons while maintaining distinctions.

The adult apron with children’s aprons hanging off the shoulders

The children’s aprons

I realize the two year-old is only just old enough to be interested in this, but the nice thing is that the straps adjust to grow with each child, and the actual apron is wide enough to last for quite a while. The three of them should be able to enjoy cooking up both real and imaginary food in their matching aprons for quite a while!

Leave a Reply

